Parsonage Resale Shop
The Betzenheimer family moved into the Parsonage in 1919, acting as caretakers for the church. Terri Betzenheimer’s father, Alvin, and his siblings were all born in the Parsonage. The family lived there all their lives until Florence Betzenheimer Mckillips moved out around 2010.
The congregation of the German Reform Church built the Parsonage on land purchased for $51.00 from Mrs. Anne Twidney on August 8, 1888. By 1915 the island’s population, as well as the congregation, had dwindled and soon after could no longer support a resident minister. The Church’s trustees rented the house to the Betzenheimer family. Florence, fondly known as “Sis”, Betzenheimer McKillips carried her mother Emma’s role of caring for the German Reform Church and the parsonage even after both buildings became part of the Kelleys Island Historical Association in the 1980’s. The Association granted Mrs. McKillips use of the house until her death in 2013 at the age of 92.
The Parsonage house has never had running water and has been serviced by a hand pump in the kitchen and an outhouse in the backyard.
The Parsonage house is now known as The Parsonage House Resale Shop. It serves the Kelleys Island community as a place to donate unwanted, or no longer needed items. It also serves as a charming place to come and buy a unique gift or a useful household item. Visitors love looking at the house and imagining how it must have been to live with no indoor plumbing and antiquated heating systems.
The proceeds from The Parsonage Resale Shop go directly to the restoration projects of the Historical Association. Repairing and refurbishing the floors in the church and then the Parsonage are two of the most pressing projects on their list.
The Parsonage House Resale Shop may be seen off-season, by appointment. Please call Jodie 419-350-1082, Janet 419-746-2393, or Manager Beth Rybus 440-773-9960.
- By Cindy Curilla Holmes
- Email: firstname.lastname@example.org